Australia’s Strategy for Managing Ozone Depleting Substances and Synthetic Greenhouse Gases

Licences and reporting requirements

About Licences and Reporting

The Ozone Protection and Synthetic Greenhouse Gas Management Act 1989 (the Act) controls the manufacture, import and export of a range of ozone depleting substances (ODSs) and synthetic greenhouse gases (SGGs) in Australia.

The specific ODSs controlled are: chlorofluorocarbon (CFC); halon 1211, 1301 and 2402; CCl4(Carbon tetrachloride); CH3CCl3 (Methyl chloroform); hydrobromofluorocarbon (HBFC); hydrochlorofluorocarbon (HCFC); Methyl bromide; and bromochlormethane (BCM). The SGGs that are controlled are hydrofluorocarbon (HFC), perfluorocarbon (PFC) and sulphur hexafluoride (SF6).

The import, export and manufacture of these 'controlled substances', and the import and manufacture of certain products containing or designed to contain some of these substances, is prohibited in Australia unless the correct licence or exemption is held. The Act also prohibits the import and manufacture of products that contain or rely upon chlorofluorocarbons (CFCs), including foams blown with CFCs.

All licences to import or export ozone depleting substances carry a condition that the licensee must only import or export the substance from a country that has ratified the Montreal Protocol and relevant subsequent Amendments.


Back to Top